Preparing for Board of Regents Testimony

Thank you to everyone who provided feedback on the proposed furlough policy. We passed a resolution yesterday suggesting some wording changes to the policy and providing rationale for our edits. I will share it after it has been formally shared with administration. 

My focus now goes to the September Board of Regents meeting where I will speak on behalf of staff as Staff Alliance Chair. I have heard a lot of staff reaction to the “retention incentive” offered to the president. It will not go unaddressed. I see the impact of budget cuts and layoffs across the system and want to hear your stories of how that is affecting the mission of the institution. I will address the furlough policy and other policy changes. Budgets are on the table and staff compensation must be advocated for.

I want to speak for you the best I can. So please, talk to me/your governance representatives. Tell us how you feel and we will help deliver your message to the Regents.

I also want to share our success stories; the great work that staff throughout the system are doing every day. So often I hear that staff are under-appreciated and over-worked but rarely do I see us stepping up and sharing news of our contributions and achievements. So if you have some great news, just finished a project that’s a really big deal, brokered an important new partnership or contract, or other accomplishment I’d love to know about it. We cannot wait for others to stop and notice our work, at some point we need to do a little bit of self-promotion. 

Staff Alliance announced in an earlier post that one goal this year is improved communication with the Board of Regents. That includes telling them what is really happening with staff in the system, how we really feel about what is happening, and how we want to be involved in the governance of this university system. Unless I am speaking the frank and honest truth our presence and testimony does little.

Your voice is needed too. I strongly encourage staff in Juneau to attend the meeting Sept. 18–19 and testify to the board in person. I encourage staff throughout the system to attend public testimony via their local video conference locations. True, you cannot testify except in person, but a strong showing does not go unnoticed. Speak with your presence. Speak with signs. Let them know you are paying attention to their meetings and actions and are real people affected by their decisions. Be involved in the action.

Feel free to share your opinions and stories here, in an e-mail to me (mmusick@alaska.edu) or through any of your governance contacts.

Thank you for your work.
Monique Musick, Chair Staff Alliance

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

